In Wilderness (Hardcover)

In Wilderness Cover Image
$26.00
Special Order - Price and Availability Subject to Change

Description


SELECTED AS ONE OF THE 10 GREAT THRILLERS FOR YOUR BEACH READING LIST BY "ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY"
""
For readers of Ron Rash, Thomas H. Cook, and Tim Johnston, " In Wilderness" is a suspenseful and literary love story hailed by "New York Times" bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson as heartbreaking, bold, relentless and the work of a true original.
In the winter of 1966, Katherine Reid moves to an isolated cabin deep in Georgia's Appalachian Mountains. There, with little more than a sleeping bag, a tin plate, and a loaded gun, she plans to spend her time in peaceful solitude. But one day, Katherine realizes the woods are not empty, and she is not alone. Someone else is near, observing her every move.
Twenty-year-old Vietnam veteran Danny lives not far from Katherine's cabin, in a once-grand mansion he has dubbed Gatsby's house. Haunted by war and enclosed by walls of moldering books, he becomes fixated on Katherine. What starts as cautious observation grows to obsession. When these two souls collide, the passion that ignites between them is all-consuming and increasingly dangerous.
Suffused with a stunning sense of character and atmosphere, Diane Thomas's intimate voice creates an unforgettable depiction of the transformative power of love, how we grieve and hope, and the perilous ways in which we heed and test our hearts.
Praise for "In Wilderness"
A harrowing exploration of desire and obsession, "In Wilderness" sends two people into a physical and psychological wilderness that becomes stranger and more terrifying the deeper they go. Christina Baker Kline, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Orphan Train"
Not my usual thing, which makes me say it all the louder: I love, love, love this book the fearless and unflinching story of two extraordinary, vivid people alone in a vast pristine wilderness, told with genuine suspense and a wonderfully empowering ending. "In Wilderness "is altogether spectacular. Lee Child, #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of "Personal"
Thomas writes hauntingly of obsession and survival in this dark, unusual love story. . . . As the author moves her characters through the seasons of 1966, 1967, and 1968, she offers a deep and unforgettable look into how tragedy and madness can shape lives. Written from the points of view of two suffering people, the story takes on an almost surreal, lyrical quality. Riveting and raw. "Publishers Weekly"
""
Haunting . . . This is both a heartbreaking and hopeful tale that stays with readers long after the last page is read. "RT Book Reviews"
""
Explosive . . . The tension continues to grow. . . . Thomas writes with richness, describing the natural world as viscerally as she does the interior lives of these two intense characters. . . . Recommended for readers who also like the raw, honest writing of Amy Bloom or Amanda Coplin. "Library Journal"
""
Gripping . . . powered by genuine suspense and driven forward by two characters whose lives readers cannot look away from . . . a memorable story of an isolated, beautiful place and of two people trying to make sense of the world they have chosen to live in. "Booklist"
Unforgettable: a mad, haunting, dreamlike story of love, obsession, and wildness . . . Diane Thomas mixes elegant prose with raw emotion. William Landay, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Defending Jacob.

About the Author


Diane Thomas is the author of the critically acclaimed novel "The Year the Music Changed." A lifelong resident of Atlanta and the Georgia mountains and part-time resident of the Florida panhandle, she now lives in New Mexico.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780804176958
ISBN-10: 0804176957
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Pages: 320
Language: English