Men of Salt: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold (Paperback)

Men of Salt: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold Cover Image
$14.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Salt was once worth its weight in gold, and treks to mine salt slabs from the heart of the Sahara desert are still made as they were throughout centuries on a caravan of camels. American writer Benanav was compelled to join the Caravan of White Gold and traveled with nomads, eating meals of sand-covered goat entrails, drinking rancid water, getting lost for a day or two at a time, and enduring blistering heat and freezing nights in the open air.Along the way, he wrote fascinating stories about the perilous life of a camel, the family values of a real nomad, the treating of injured miners in a desert, and the cultural differences of labor and money. This is a well-reviewed travel narrative unlike any other, and it is accompanied by stunning full-color photographs. It will appeal to readers of Stiff, Salt, and fans of Jonathan Raban and Bill Bryson.

About the Author


Michael Benanav writes and photographs for the travel section of The New York Times. He has also written for other national newspapers, and was a contributing editor to The Salt Journal. He has also worked as a mountain and desert guide in the American West. He lives in northern New Mexico.

Praise For…


"Even if readers don't find the idea of spending 40 harrowing days with a caravan crossing some of the world's most unforgiving desert as enticing as Benanav does, that doesn't mean they won't quickly devour his thrilling account of that otherworldly journey. This is that rare work that takes readers beyond their imaginations." -- Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781599211640
ISBN-10: 1599211645
Publisher: Lyons Press
Publication Date: April 1st, 2008
Pages: 220
Language: English