A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting: A Novel (Hardcover)

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting: A Novel By Sophie Irwin Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


“Bridgerton fans will swoon over this entertaining romp through Britain’s Regency-era high society.”
People

"A Lady's Guide to Fortune Hunting is a sharp, modern, and absolutely delicious take on the marriage plot. Sophie Irwin's debut is one of the most fun, romantic books I've read in a long time. I cannot wait to see what she does next."

--Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Malibu Rising

A whip-smart debut that follows the adventures of an entirely unconventional heroine who throws herself into the London Season to find a wealthy husband.  But the last thing she expects is to find love…


Kitty Talbot needs a fortune. Or rather, she needs a husband who has a fortune. Left with her father’s massive debts, she has only twelve weeks to save her family from ruin.
 
 Kitty has never been one to back down from a challenge, so she leaves home and heads toward the most dangerous battleground in all of England: the London season. 
  
Kitty may be neither accomplished nor especially genteel—but she is utterly single-minded; imbued with cunning and ingenuity, she knows that risk is just part of the game. 
 
The only thing she doesn’t anticipate is Lord Radcliffe. The worldly Radcliffe sees Kitty for the mercenary fortune-hunter that she really is and is determined to scotch her plans at all costs, until their parrying takes a completely different turn….

This is a frothy pleasure, full of brilliant repartee and enticing wit--one that readers will find an irresistible delight.

About the Author


Sophie Irwin grew up in Dorset, England; after university, she moved to London to work in publishing. A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting is her debut novel.
 

Praise For…


Praise for A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting


“This book captivated me. What a sassy, witty, delicious tale. Kitty Talbot is a fabulous, fearless heroine and I cheered for her all the way through this brilliant romp.”
—Sophie Kinsella, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Party Crasher

“Plucky, witty and bright...Readers of Jane Austen and fans of Bridgerton will swoon and fan themselves as they devour this fun, frolicking romp.”
Nita Prose, New York Times bestselling author of The Maid

“Bridgerton
fans will swoon over this entertaining romp through Britain’s Regency-era high society.”
People

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting is a sharp, modern, and absolutely delicious take on the marriage plot. Sophie Irwin's debut is one of the most fun, romantic books I've read in a long time. I cannot wait to see what she does next.”
Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Malibu Rising

“A complete joy! Irwin’s fresh take on Regency romance is a timeless masterpiece featuring a whip-smart heroine who shares sizzling chemistry with a reluctant lord, and an ending that I promise will move you to tears. Irresistible.”
Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Magnolia Palace

“Bridgerton fans will devour Sophie Irwin's delightful Regency debut… A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting is a confection to be savoured!”
—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code

“Move over, Mr. Darcy! Readers of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and my own novels will adore this hilarious, sparkling debut! Utterly irresistible.”
Eloisa James, New York Times bestselling author of How to Be A Wallflower

“I cheered for Kitty as she continually confronts the whole of polite society in her outrageous pursuit of a rich husband….an impressive debut novel.”
Mary Balogh, New York Times bestselling author of Someone Perfect

“Georgette Heyer fans will devour this fun, fast-paced comedy of manners. Kitty is an unapologetically ambitious fortune-hunter and a fabulous heroine, full of tenacity, surprises, and love of family. Our strong, suspicious hero is her perfect match, leading to laugh-out-loud interactions and banter that sparkles. A delightful debut!”
Erica Ridley, New York Times bestselling author of The Duke Heist

“I have not read such a satisfying and entertaining book in a very long time. It is beautifully-written, charming, witty, moving and infectiously exuberant. Irwin has a delightfully light touch and an acute eye for snooty early-nineteenth century London society with all its glamour, elegance and ruthless ambition—it reminded me a little of my favourite author, Edith Wharton.”
—Santa Montefiore, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret of the Irish Castle

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting is a Regency romance with a bit of 21st-century wisdom. Delightfully well written.”
—Charmaine Wilkerson, New York Times bestselling author of Black Cake

“A fun and biting historical romance that isn't afraid to put its leading lady first.”
—Buzzfeed

“Irwin's debut is a delicious historical romcom in the vein of Martha Waters and Bridgerton without the smooching.”
Booklist

“Delicious — frothy, gossipy and glamorous. A Regency Romance with Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer as literary touchstones.”
Daily Mail

“A diamond of the first water! Shades of Heyer with a dash of modern roguishness that belongs to Sophie Irwin. The grand Kitty is a splendid heroine—plucky and resolute—and her story is full of heart and swooningly romantic. In short, I bloody loved it.”
—Beth Morrey, international bestselling author of The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

“I absolutely, loved, loved loved, this book. The characters are so fantastically well drawn, the period detail gives the perfect atmosphere. It was like finding a long, lost Georgette Heyer, only better. Stayed with me after, keeping a smile on my face. A triumph.”
—Susan Lewis, international bestselling author of I Have Something To Tell You

“A heart-warming story that radiates passion for the Regency era, with a thoroughly modern heroine, navigating Regency romance with wit, style and energy. Sophie Irwin is a formidable Austentacious talent—I can't rave enough about it.”
—Janice Hallett, international bestselling author of The Appeal

“A lively, unconventional and unapologetic heroine sets out to ensnare a rich man and save her family from ruin. The man determined to block her ambitions is a handsome, hard-nosed earl. Sparks fly and banter ensues. When an unstoppable force meets an immovable object, something's gotta give — and it won't be our heroine.  A Regency romp to remember.”
—Anne Gracie, bestselling author of The Rake’s Daughter

“A huge, warm treat of a book. Refreshing, funny and sparklingly smart, with a brilliant heroine in Kitty Talbot and a central battle of wills that I couldn’t get enough of. You won’t be able to tear your eyes away from the debut of the season.”
—Cressida McLaughlin, bestselling author of The Staycation

“I was utterly charmed by this enthralling romp set in Regency England. For those who love Georgette Heyer, Jane Austen, or Bridgerton...This sumptuous, fast-paced treat is unputdownable, whisking you away to the heady world of gowns, gossip, and gambles.”
—Jennifer Ryan, bestselling author of The Kitchen Front

“This was just divine—an utter delight!”
—Nina Stibbe, author of Reasons to be Cheerful

“A delightful romp—as clever, capricious and charming as the heroine herself. . . .a sparkling debut that reads like a turbo-charged Jane Austen.”
—Joanna Toye, author of The Shop Girls series
 
“This is SO much fun. I’ve already made myself cough by laughing. It’s the most pleasing homage to Georgette Heyer with a thoroughly modern sensibility all of its own. Tremendous stuff.”
—Harriet Tyce, author of The Lies You Told
 
“Funny, fresh and original—with two delicious and loveable central characters—you’ll want to put it straight on your dance card.”
—Cesca Major, author of Maybe Next Time

“Fortune-hunters are rarely viewed sympathetically in Regency romances (remember Lucy Steele in Sense and Sensibility?), but Irwin takes on the task with impressive results and an ironic finesse of which Jane Austen would surely have approved. [Kitty] is a heroic figure. Highly recommended.”
—The Historical Novel Society

“It is clever, funny, wonderfully escapist, and the ending is immensely satisfying.”
The Bookseller (UK)

“Like its heroine Kitty, Sophie Irwin’s debut is full of spirit and gumption as it cracks along like a carriage on its way to the ball of the season … enormous fun and a delight to escape into. Just what we all need.”
—AJ Pearce, international bestselling author of Dear Mrs. Bird
 
“Perfectly charming Regency romance with everything you could possibly want: sardonic lords, principled yet desperate heroines, the ton, the season, exquisite fashion, stinging set downs and of course love. Gorgeous.”
—Jane Casey, author of Let The Dead Speak
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593491348
ISBN-10: 0593491343
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English