No More Bullies!/¡No Más Bullies: Owl in a Straw Hat 2: Owl in a Straw Hat 2 (Hardcover)

No More Bullies!/¡No Más Bullies: Owl in a Straw Hat 2: Owl in a Straw Hat 2 Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 7 2:18am
(Southwest Stories & Histo)


The adventures and lessons continue in this second book featuring “Owl in a Straw Hat” (Ollie Tecolote). This book tackles the subject of bullying of classmates for being different. Jackie Jackalope is missing from school and the teacher (Ollie’s grandmother) gets to the bottom of it. The kids have been teasing Jackie about her horns and she has run away to her parents in Pot of Gold Land. A contrite Ollie along with Uno the Unicorn (both guilty of teasing) volunteer to find and bring Jackie back to school. Their journey to Jackie’s home leads to encounters with three guardians of the Dark Forest (NM monsters/legends): La Llorona, El Kookoóee, and Skeleton Woman; and the Golden Carp who allows them to cross Rainbow Bridge. They reach Jackie and apologize and take her back to Wisdom School. Rudolfo Anaya’s magical characters are brought to life by illustrator El Moisés.

About the Author

Rudolfo Anaya, considered the father of Chicano literature, is the author of the beloved classic Bless Me, Ultima, which was adapted into a feature film in 2013. In 2016, Anaya received the National Medal of Arts presented by President Barack Obama. His children’s books include Owl in a Straw Hat, Rudolfo Anaya’s The Farolitos of Christmas, The First Tortilla, Roadrunner’s Dance, and The Santero’s Miracle. Anaya is professor emeritus of English at the University of New Mexico where he taught for thirty years. He lives in Albuquerque.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780890136423
ISBN-10: 0890136424
Publisher: Museum of New Mexico Press
Publication Date: March 15th, 2019
Pages: 36