In Too Steep (A Misty Bay Tea Room Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

In Too Steep (A Misty Bay Tea Room Mystery #2) By Kate Kingsbury Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Misty Bay Tea Room Mystery series.

Description


The peace and tranquility of the Misty Bay Tearoom is rocked by murder and a long-buried secret hidden in a most unlikely place in bestselling author Kate Kingsbury’s second charming book for fans of Cleo Coyle and Laura Childs.

It seemed like a simple case: the murder of Lewis Trenton, a beachcomber who lived alone in a cabin in the Oregon hills. But the newspaper article piques the interest of Vivian Wainwright, owner of the British-style Misty Bay Tearoom. The photo accompanying the article shows Lewis’s cluttered living room, and on the shelf is a replica of Big Ben. Vivian is sure she sold the clock a week before in her shop. Who could have given the replica to Lewis?
 
Unable to keep from doing a bit of sleuthing, Vivian hunts down the replica in a local thrift shop, noticing that the base is missing, rendering it worthless, but just as Vivian is about to throw it in the trash, a sparkle catches her eye. It’s a diamond, hidden away in a crevice in the clock. Vivian takes the diamond to Detective Tony Messina, who identifies it as part of a jewelry heist in Portland a month earlier. Portland police think Lewis was the fence who sold the jewels, and that he was killed after double-crossing the thieves—but Messina doesn’t believe the story.
 
What was the true motive behind Lewis’s murder? How did he come upon the diamond? And what secrets can the clock tell—before the killer strikes again?
 

About the Author


Kate Kingsbury is the national bestselling author of over sixty books. Her work has appeared on many bestseller lists and her books have sold all over the world. She grew up in London, England and moved to the U.S. in the early sixties. She now lives in Oregon and spends some of her spare time playing golf and camping in an RV with her husband, Bill and a Chihuahua/mix puppy named Bella.

Praise For…


Praise for In Too Steep:
“Love and murder . . .  [And] a charming group of sleuths.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Kate Kingsbury:
“A stellar cozy mystery novel.”
—Christine DeSmet, author of the Fudge Shop Mystery Series, on In Hot Water

“A trio of lively sleuths [and] a delightfully cozy tea parlor.”
—Kate Collins, New York Times bestselling author of the Flower Shop mysteries

“A fast paced cozy mystery with contemporary elements yet English tea room charm.”
—Karen Rose Smith, bestselling author of the Daisy’s Tea Garden mysteries

“Well-drawn characters and the charming tea-shop frame distinguish this cozy.”
Booklist

“Kate Kingsbury is a pro.”
—Carolyn Haines, USA Today bestselling author of the Sarah Booth Delaney mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639100668
ISBN-10: 1639100660
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: August 9th, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: A Misty Bay Tea Room Mystery