Writing the Wild: Kevin Fedarko at Los Poblanos

Monday, August 12, 2024 - 7:00pm

Bookworks and the Leopold Writing Program are pleased to present this very special edition of Writing the Wild, featuring adventure writer Kevin Fedarko, reading from his newest book, A Walk in the Park: The True Story of a Spectacular Misadventure in the Grand Canyon. 

This event will take place at the beautiful and historic La Quinta of Los Poblanos. Join us at 5:30pm when the doors open to mingle and enjoy a drink from the cash bar provided by Los Poblanos. Mr. Fedarko will be available to sign books between 6pm and 6:45pm, and the reading and Q&A will run from 7pm to 8pm.

Tickets available below and in-store. Doors at 5:30pm, signing at 6pm, and reading at 7pm.

A huge thank you to our friends at AMP Concerts and Los Poblanos for their ongoing and generous support of literary events in our community! 

Praise for A Walk in the Park

"Part memoir, part travelogue, part extended essay on the profound meanings of wilderness, A Walk in the Park is a paean to one of earth's most spectacular places, and a testament to the irresistible pull this mighty landscape exerts over human beings. Fans of Bill Bryson, Cheryl Strayed, and Edward Abbey will love this rich, funny, and spirited work from the Grand Canyon's most eloquent bard. Fedarko's bushwhacking, boulder-hopping, scree-slipping odyssey makes for delightful reading, and underscores the essential truth that mystics and penitents down through the ages have always known: Put one foot in front of the other, and magical things will follow." -- Hampton Sides, New York Times bestselling author of Blood and Thunder and The Wide Wide Sea

"An immersive account of the challenges of a grueling 750-mile hike through the Grand Canyon. . . . Fedarko expansively describes the journey . . . with a combination of dry humor and horror, and he pays tribute to the spare beauty, grandeur, and silence of a place that few have seen, resulting in a memorable reading experience." -- Kirkus (starred review)

"While fighting for survival on a blistering journey through one of the world's most formidable and spectacular landscapes, not only does Fedarko carry us deep into the Grand Canyon, he pulls us back in time to dwell with the region's native peoples whose legacy and ancestors he refuses to ignore, wrestling with the right and just stewardship of the place. You will laugh, cry, and shake your head in marvel as he and his best buddy, adventure photographer and filmmaker Pete McBride, struggle mightily, and you will be moved by this deeply personal journey and triumph of will." -- Dean King, nationally bestselling author of Skeletons on the Zahara and Guardians of the Valley: John Muir and the Friendship That Saved Yosemite

About A Walk in the Park

Join adventure writer Kevin Fedarko on an epic quest, on foot, through the entire length of the Grand Canyon—not “rim to rim” as has been tackled by many—but 750 miles “end to end.” Hiking over 100 days, Kevin and photographer/filmmaker Pete McBride traversed mostly along the goat trail, through slot canyons, blinding sun, and snow. Part sufferfest, part glorious trek, their expedition sheds light on the health and future of this national treasure and invites us to contemplate the value of wild spaces.

About Kevin Fedarko

For the past twenty years, Kevin has written about conservation, exploration, and the Grand Canyon. His writings have appeared in National Geographic, The New York Times, and Esquire. His first book, The Emerald Mile: The Epic Story of the Fastest Ride in History Through the Heart of the Grand Canyon, was a New York Times bestseller.

In 2015 and 2016, Kevin spent 14 months hiking an uncharted route through the Grand Canyon with his friend National Geographic photographer Pete McBride, whose work highlights the environmental struggle facing American rivers. The duo scrambled some 800 miles over treacherous terrain, including countless cliffs, steep drops, and long stretches with no access to water. They began hiking in September 2015 and finished the following November. Kevin learned a lot in that time, including the fact that one of America’s most iconic national parks was taken from 11 indigenous tribes that had occupied that space for thousands of years and still retain a connection to the canyon.

Event address: 
La Quinta at Los Poblanos
4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW
Los Ranchos, NM 87107
$35.00
SKU: Fedarko
Please enter the ticketholder's email.
Please enter the name and phone number under which this ticket will be held