Justin St Germain talks about his memoir Son of a Gun, recounting his mother's murder in Tombstone

In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath.
Tombstone, Arizona, September 2001. Debbie St. Germain's death, apparently at the hands of her fifth husband, is a passing curiosity.

"A real-life old West murder mystery," the local TV announcers intone, while barroom gossips snicker cruelly. But for her twenty-year-old son, Justin St. Germain, the tragedy marks the line that separates his world into "before" and "after."
Distancing himself from the legendary town of his childhood, Justin makes another life a world away in San Francisco and achieves all the surface successes that would have filled his mother with pride. Yet years later he's still sleeping with a loaded rifle under his bed.

Ultimately, he is pulled back to the desert landscape of his childhood on a search to make sense of the unfathomable. What made his mother, a onetime army paratrooper, the type of woman who would stand up to any man except the men she was in love with? What led her to move from place to place, man to man, job to job, until finally she found herself in a desperate and deteriorating situation, living on an isolated patch of desert with an unstable ex-cop?

Justin's journey takes him back to the ghost town of Wyatt Earp, to the trailers he and Debbie shared, to the string of stepfathers who were a constant, sometimes threatening presence in his life, to a harsh world on the margins full of men and women all struggling to define what family means. He decides to confront people from his past and delve into the police records in an attempt to make sense of his mother's life and death. All the while he tries to be the type of man she would have wanted him to be.

Justin St. Germain was born in Philadelphia in 1981. He attended the University of Arizona and was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford. He lives in Albuquerque.

A LOS ANGELES TIMES SUMMER READING PICK

PRAISE:

"Intelligent and compassionate at every step, "Son of a Gun" is a savage memoir of a young man squaring off against his violent legacy. Justin St. Germain stares down his troubled Tombstone boyhood, from shooting capguns in the shadow of the OK Corral to piecing together his murdered mother's final moments. A searing story bravely told." --Claire Vaye Watkins, author of Battleborn

"From an incident of heartbreaking violence, Justin St. Germain has created a clear-eyed and deeply moving meditation on family, geography and memory, and how difficult it is to find our place in any of them. Son of a Gun is an extraordinary memoir."--Kevin Powers, author of The Yellow Birds

"A great, momentous undertaking . . . This book is brave, honest, savage, and tender all at once. It broke my heart, and I'm so grateful I've read it."--Jesmyn Ward, National Book Award-winning author of Salvage the Bones

"Try not to fall in love with one of the most beautifully raw, brutally honest memoirs I've read--I dare you."--Benjamin Percy, author of Red Moon

"Taut . . . audacious . . . compelling . . . Admirably, St. Germain tries to understand how his young adulthood was shaped."--Kirkus Reviews

Event date: 
Saturday, August 31, 2013 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
4022 Rio Grande Blvd NW
87107-3157 Albuquerque
us
Broken Man Cover Image
$14.52
ISBN: 9781411625907
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lulu.com - March 20th, 2005