Bookworks Presents: The Sacrifice of Darkness—a discussion with Roxane Gay, Tracy Lynne Oliver, and Rebecca Kirby

Join Bookworks for a virtual launch of the graphic novel adaptation of Roxane Gay’s short story in this discussion with Gay, Oliver, and Kirby about their new book, Sacrifice of Darkness.

Event time is 7 PM mountain (6 PM Pacific/ 8 PM Central/ 9 PM Eastern).

Access to the event requires book purchase of Sacrifice of Darkness below. Bookworks will email you the Zoom registration link on December 1 at 12 pm MT to the email you used to purchase the book. You will receive email confirmation of your order.

Please read our requirements for attending and participating in virtual events.

******

Roxane Gay, Tracy Lynne Oliver, and Rebecca Kirby adapt Gay's New York Times bestselling short story "We Are the Sacrifice of Darkness" as a full length graphic novel, expanding and further developing the unforgettable world where the sun no longer shines. 

When I was a young girl, my husband's father flew an air machine into the sun. Since then, the days have been dark, the nights bright.

Follow one woman's powerful journey through this new landscape as she discovers love, family, and the true light in a world seemingly robbed of any. As she challenges notions of identity, guilt, and survival she'll find that no matter the darkness, there remains sources of hope that can pierce the veil.

Roxane Gay is a writer, professor, editor, and social critic. Her writing appears in Best American Mystery Stories 2014, Best American Short Stories 2012, Best Sex Writing 2012, McSweeney's Tin House, American Short Fiction, and many other collections and international media. She is a contributing opinion writer for The New York Times. She is the author of the books Ayiti, An Utamed State, New York Times bestselling Bad Feminist and Hunger, and the bestseller Difficult Women. Find Roxane Gay's many other books here. She is also the author of World of Wakanda for Marvel. Find out more about Roxane Gay on her website.

Tracy Lynne Oliver published an essay, "Love Letters" in Medium's "Unruly Bodies" series and is co-author of Sacrifice of Darkness. Find out more about Tracy Lynne Oliver on her website.

Rebecca Kirby is a comic book artist who draws with humor about the body and illness. Find some of her work on VICE.

Event date: 
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Bookworks VIRTUAL
RSVP to rsvp@bkwrks.com
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Sacrifice of Darkness Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684156245
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Archaia - October 27th, 2020